Student Scholarly Conference Travel Award, Academic Dean | Earlham College
COVID-19 news, plans and updates | READ MORE
Skip to Content

Student Scholarly Conference Travel Award

Students who have been accepted to present research at, or invited to actively participate in (e.g., give a keynote address, moderate sessions, etc.), scholarly conferences during each year (running from July 1 – June 30) can apply for funding to assist with travel costs from the Student Scholarly Conference Travel fund.

Travel funding awards may be for any amount up to a maximum of $750 dollars per student (for one or two students traveling to a specific conference) or will be for a total of $2,000 for three or more students to attend the same conference. These funds may only be used to help defray actual travel expenses. Students should apply as a group (if more than one student would like to attend the same conference) or individually if only one student would like to attend.

Available funding is limited and cannot be guaranteed to all applicants. Preference in funding will be given to students making formal academic presentations, although requests to support other kinds of scholarly participation will be considered. Funds will also be prioritized for students who have not yet received this support from Earlham.

Note that applications must include answers to all questions, as well as a detailed budget based on the form available through the application form.

To apply, students should fill out the Application Form.

Students must submit receipts for reimbursement of all expenses incurred. As a condition of receiving a Student Scholarly Conference Travel Award, recipients will be expected to present their research results, or share about their experience, at EPIC Expo.

Previous Recipients


Veronica Bradley
Olivia Tienen
Minda Dettman
Anisha Dongol
Flannery Currin
Grace Makhoul


Atit Bashyal
Jennifer Barrett
Abbey McCullogh
Muhammad Mujtaba
Anna Schonwald


Erin Bumpus
Jingwei Dai
Nhi Dinh
Fadee Disoke
Jessica Feliz
Zayang Gao
Jinhee Kim
Hannah Munro
Soeya Naing
Jensen Pennock
Clarice Perryman
Doroteja Rubez
Skibei Shen
Chunghha Sherpa
Cameron VanCleave
Sam Weitekamp



Sohrab Amiri
Esteban Arguedas
Sadi Coughlin-Prego
George Crowson
Andrey Gavrilov
John Hornak
Ram Itani
Jelena Juras
Jinhee Kim
Kristin Muterspaw
Ashutosh Rai
Deeksha Srinath

Print Friendly and PDF

Earlham College, an independent, residential college, aspires to provide the highest-quality undergraduate education in the liberal arts and sciences, shaped by the distinctive perspectives of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers).

Earlham College
801 National Road West
Richmond, Indiana
1-765-983-1200 — Main Switchboard
1-800-EARLHAM (327-5426) — Admission


Earlham admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin, age, gender and sexual orientation to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin, age, gender and sexual orientation in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic and other school-administered programs.